Tuesday, June 22, 2010

2010 - 2011 Board of Directors

Ms. Alice io Oglesby, io design & illustration, will be installed as Chairman of the Board at the Asheville Area Chamber of Commerce’s 113th Annual Meeting on June 21, 2010 at the Grove Park Inn Resort and Spa. Oglesby will lead the Chamber in efforts for economic development, tourism, small business, education and other areas. Oglesby succeeds out-going chair, Mike Willett of BB&T.

Oglesby plans to engage the Chamber membership to encourage participation in the many quality networking and educational programs the Chamber offers. Having years of experience owning a small business in our community, Oglesby understands the challenges local businesses are facing in these challenging times.

Oglesby will serve with the following members of the Chamber’s Executive Committee:
  • Mr. Michael Willett, BB&T, Immediate Past Chairman
  • Mr. LaVoy Spooner, AT&T, First Vice Chair
  • Mr. David Phillips, Pike Real Estate Development, Treasurer
  • Mr. Robert C. Kendrick, Kendrick & Associates, Secretary
  • Mr. Dana Stonestreet, HomeTrust Bank, Chair Audit Committee*
  • Ms. Linda Brandt, LB Marketing Services, Second Vice Chair
  • Ms. Michelle Rippon, Constangy, Brooks & Smith, Legal Counsel

In addition, the following members will serve on the Executive Committee as department vice chairs:
  • Mr. Michel Baudouin, Bouchon French Bistro, Vice Chair Convention and Visitors Bureau
  • Mr. Stefan Magura, Blue Ridge Bone and Joint, Vice Chair Member Services/Communications
  • Ms. Carol Rovello, Strategic Workplace Solutions, Vice Chair Small Business & Entrepreneurship*
  • Mr. David Phillips, Pike Real Estate Development, Vice Chair Workforce Development/Public
  • Policy

The Vice Chair of Economic Development will be named at a future time.

The current Chamber President & CEO, Mr. Richard J. Lutovsky, also serves on the Executive Committee.

The remaining members of the Board of Directors for 2010-2011 are:
  • Mr. David Bailey, United Way of Asheville & Buncombe County
  • Ms. Tracy Buchanan, CarePartners Health Services*
  • Mr. Jon Corbin, The Buyer’s Agent of Asheville
  • Ms. Carolyn Coward, Van Winkle Law Firm*
  • Ms. Suzanne DeFerie, Asheville Savings Bank
  • Mr. Randy Hammer, Asheville Citizen-Times
  • Mr. Ben Hamrick, Johnson, Price & Sprinkle, PA*
  • Mr. John Miles, integritive inc.*
  • Mr. Andrew Nagle, Conrad Industries dba A-B Emblem*
  • Dr. William (Sandy) Pfeiffer, Warren Wilson College
  • Mr. Chuck Pickering, Biltmore Company
  • Mr. Robby Russell, Wachovia Bank
  • Ms. Wendy Whitson, River District Artists
  • Mr. Oscar P. Wong, Highland Brewing Company, Inc.

Ex-Officio members of the Board are:
  • Ms. Terry Bellamy, Mayor, City of Asheville
  • Mr. Eric Scheffer, Chairman, Buncombe County Tourism Development Authority*
  • Mr. David Gantt, Chairman, Buncombe County Commission
  • Mr. K. Ray Bailey, Chairman, Economic Development Coalition for Asheville–Buncombe
  • County*
(*Denotes new directors)

No comments: