Tuesday, April 15, 2014

Artists selected for New Media Juried Exhibition at Asheville Art Museum

The Asheville Art Museum is excited to announce that 12 artists have been selected to have their work exhibited in Prime Time: Second Annual New Media Juried Exhibition, which opens April 25 in the Museum’s New Media Gallery and runs through August 31, 2014. In January of this year, the Museum announced an open call to North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee artists working in single channel, screen-based new media, including video art, experimental animation and time-based media. More than 50 submissions were received, of which 12 were chosen as finalists. The selections represent just a sampling of the broad variety of works that fall into this category of contemporary art.

The 12 selected artists are:

  • Heather Freeman, Charlotte, NC
  • Nathan Halverson, Columbia, SC
  • Pete Hurdle, Charlotte, NC
  • Peter Kusek, Asheville, NC
  • Mary Anna LaFratta, Cosby TN
  • Daniel Lowe, Asheville, NC
  • Frank McCauley, Sumter, SC
  • Anna Norton, Highlands, NC
  • Charmaine Ortiz, Carolina Beach, NC
  • Dawn Roe, Asheville, NC
  • Josh Yates, Charlotte, NC 
  • Josh Zerangue, Mt. Pleasant, SC
The Museum’s New Media Gallery, which opened in 2012, provides an opportunity to spotlight artists who are working in New Media, including stop action and hand-drawn animation, narrative film, Glitch Art, sound, video and light installations, and other live programs connected via the Internet. In 2012, the Museum hosted its first new media juried exhibition, inviting local artists to participate in the Museum’s programming and introduce viewers to an innovative and interactive medium. With the mission of the New Media Gallery in mind, the Museum has decided to establish the juried exhibition as an annual event, providing regional artists a chance to exhibit in one of the only galleries of its kind in Western North Carolina.

A preview screening and reception for Prime Time will take place in conjunction with Moogfest on Friday, April 25 at 5:00 p.m. in the Museum’s upper theatre (advance registration is required). Following the opening, the New Media Gallery will offer daily screenings of the works by the 12 finalists. The videos are played in a loop that lasts for about one hour.

This exhibition was organized by the Asheville Art Museum, and co-curated by David Teng Olsen, New Media Artist and Assistant Professor of Art at Wellesley College; Benjamin Funke, New Media Artist and Visiting Professor of Art at Humboldt State University; and Candace Reilly, Asheville Art Museum. Prime Time: Second Annual New Media Juried Exhibition is sponsored by Moogfest.

No comments: