Tuesday, May 2, 2017

Asheville Symphony presents Mahler's spellbinding first symphony - May 13

Experience sheer musical joy as the Asheville Symphony presents Gustav Mahler’s immense Symphony No. 1, “Titan,” on Saturday, May 13 at 8 p.m. in Thomas Wolfe Auditorium under the direction of ASO Music Director Daniel Meyer. 

The evening opens with Mozart’s gracefully ornate Violin Concerto No. 3 featuring guest violinist Yevgeny Kutik. 

With a “dark-hued tone and razor-sharp technique” (The New York Times), the Russian-American Kutik has captivated audiences worldwide with an old-world sound that communicates a modern intellect. Praised for his technical precision and virtuosity, he is also lauded for his poetic and imaginative interpretations of standard works as well as rarely heard and newly composed repertoire. 

“One of my proudest accomplishments with the ASO has been to foster up-and-coming solo talent,” says Meyer. “The guest artists whom I have invited to share the stage with our orchestra can now be found on the marquees of classical music’s most venerable stages. Young violinist Yevgeny Kutik is one such musician who I believe will be a bright light in the music world for years to come. With a mature artistic temperament and an astonishing technical prowess, Yevgeny will bring a fresh perspective to the emotional Mozart Violin Concerto.”

The second and final piece on the program is Mahler’s captivating Symphony No. 1, known as “Titan.” The powerful symphony is scored for an orchestra of approximately 100 musicians. The full palette of emotions is on display in this work, which ranges from joyous to ominous, subdued to raucously triumphant.

“Gustav Mahler has always loomed large in my exploration of music,” says Meyer. “I am deeply attracted to this music that can be as world-embracing as Beethoven’s, yet often so personal—an artist’s soul laid bare. His complete mastery of the orchestra, his keen ear for color, his ability to shift from one emotional extreme to another—all of what makes Mahler so singular can be heard in his First Symphony.”

Single tickets for all concerts are $22-62, depending on seating section (reduced youth pricing is available). Single tickets and season ticket packages can be purchased online at ashevillesymphony.org, by phone at 828-254-7046, or in person at the U.S. Cellular Center box office at 87 Haywood Street.

Masterworks 7
May 13, 2017 • 8 p.m.
Thomas Wolfe Auditorium

Daniel Meyer, conductor
Yevgeny Kutik, violin

Mozart                 Violin Concerto No. 3 Mahler                 Symphony No. 1 “Titan”

No comments: